UMBC Sports Blog

Covering all UMBC sports for UMBC fans

Basketball Post Season Awards

leave a comment »

First Team

Marqus Blakely
John Holland
Corey Lowe
Darryl Proctor
Mike Trimboli

Second Team

Jay Greene
Tyrece Gibbs
D.J. Rivera
Emanuel Mayben
Muhammad El-Amin

Third Team

Tim Ambrose
Will Harris
Reggie Fuller
Jaret von Rosenberg
Colin McIntosh

Rookie Team

Jake O’Brien
Gerald McLemore
Tommy Brenton
Bryan Dougher
Garvey Young

All-Defensive Team

Marqus Blakely
Reggie Fuller
Jarel Hastings
Matt Wolff
Marques Cox

POY: Marqus Blakely
DPOY: Marqus Blakely
ROY: Jake O’Brien
COY: Kevin Broadus

What a joke this is. I did guess most of these but how was D.J. Rivera not on the first team all-conference. AND HOW DID BLAKELY REPEAT IN BOTH PLAYER OF THE YEAR AND DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR. There is no way he was worthy of both. All this shows me is the coaches don’t really care. Corey Lowe should not have been on the first team. I mean I see the argument but how did the conference champions not have a player on the first team. I guess it just has to do with Lowe being a unanimous pick in the preseason polls the coaches didn’t want to look stupid. I do however agree with Proctor and Greene being on the first and second teams. If proctor didn’t make it then it would have just been insane. But I really think he should have been the player of the year. He was the most productive player in the conference by minutes played. Only one player in the conference can say he scored in double figures ever game this year, and that’s Darryl Proctor. And how was Gilliam not on the all-rookie team? I have no clue about that. He meant so much to UMBC and was a candidate for ROY in most opinions. While I didn’t think he would win that award (I picked O’Brien originally but changed my pick) there is no reason he should have been left off. The only think I can think of is the same thing that happened in soccer when Andrew Bulls didn’t make rookie of the year. They didn’t want a team that finished low in the conference to get many awards.

But lets not forget that Justin Fry was named to the all-academic team as the first ever retriever to be one it in the four years it’s been around. Fry’s accumulated a 3.32GPA in ecomincs. this actually surprised me, not that he’s on it but if he’s the first Brian Hodges who graduated with a 3.8 in financial economics in three years didn’t make it. Who knew.

Written by Corey Johns

March 6, 2009 at 1:05 pm

Leave a comment